9 Mantras and Affirmations for Self-Love

I shared mudras for self-love with you, and now it’s time for mantras and affirmations for self-love. Align yourself with the vibration of the Universe and the frequency of love with these beautiful mantras.

Some beautiful ways to use mantra are:

Try them all out or use just one. There are no wrong ways to incorporate mantra into your spiritual practice!

1. So Ham. This ancient Sanskrit mantra translates as “I am that.” It reminds you that everything you desire, you already are. You are enough, exactly where you are. You are the Universe in ecstatic motion, as Rumi would say. You are that.

2. I am love. Use this mantra to remind you that love is not separate from you. Love is within you, and in fact love is you.

3. I am whole exactly as I am. There is nothing wrong with you. There is nothing that needs to be fixed. Exactly as you are is exactly where you are supposed to be in this moment.

4. Self-love is something I’m working on, and I’m grateful for all the ways I show myself love. Self-love is a journey, not a destination. It will always be a process and a part of your practice. Use this mantra to show yourself gratitude for where you are on your journey in this moment.

5. Loving myself is an important part of who I am. Remind yourself that love is a key part of your identity with this affirmation.

6. Ra Ma Da Sa Sa Say So Hung. This Kundalini mantra is all about healing. Use it to work with your core emotional wounds and the parts of yourself that you struggle to love. Ra Ma Da Sa Sa Say So Hung brings balance, attunes you to the Universe, and connects with the energy of the sun, moon, earth, and Universe, to bring you deep healing.

7. Love is my birthright. Use this affirmation to remind you that you were always meant to experience love. From the very beginning, you were love. At this moment, you are love. In the future, you will always be love. Love is your birthright, and no one can take that away from you.

8. I am worthy of love, joy, and all that I desire. We all have those pesky negative thoughts that pop up from time to time. You know what they are: they say whatever it is that robs you of your joy. They ask, “who am I to do this?” And they try to trick you into believing in your own unworthiness. Use this mantra to tell those thoughts exactly where to stick it.

9. Yam. This is the bija, or seed, mantra for your anahata, or heart, chakra. Use it to open and balance your heart chakra, the energetic center of unconditional love in your body, and offer that unconditional love to yourself.

Which mantra is your favorite? Comment below and share how you plan to use it!

5 Mudras for Self-Love

February is all about love, right?

I'm all for it. But how about we focus on the love that's already within you, and how to connect with that love and give it to yourself instead of showering it on everyone else?

Mudras are powerful tools to help you shift your energy and access different elements (fire, air, space, earth, and water) within your hands. The best part is, they're generally easy and accessible to most people, wherever you are on your yoga journey.

Use the 5 mudras below as part of your meditation or yoga practice to help you access the love and compassion within you and offer it to yourself.

Image from Beautiful Mind.

1. Ahamkara Mudra. 

This mudra, which is all about self-confidence, works to activate your solar plexus chakra. Often when you struggle to love yourself, confidence can be a big part of that. Use this mudra to be more confident in who you really are.

To do Ahamkara mudra, bend your index finger slightly and bring your thumb to the your index finger between the first and second knuckles. Stretch your middle, ring, and pinky fingers out. Do this with both hands to make it even more powerful.


Image from Yoga Wiz.

2. Cin mudra. 

This mudra is one of the most common mudras used in yoga classes all over the world, and with good reason. It's beautiful mudra that brings the elements of fire and air together to represent the union of your individual self with the Universe.

How can you not love yourself when you remember that you are one with all that is? You are one with the cosmos. Your mind, body, and soul are not separate from the Universe-- they are the Universe.

Come into a comfortable seat. Bring the tip of your index finger and tip of your thumb to touch and rest your hands, facing up, on your knees or thighs.

3. Karana Mudra. 

This mudra helps you release some of the negative energy that may be holding you back from loving yourself more.

Whatever energy is running through yourself and your life that is holding you back, keeping you small, and stopping you from stepping into your power, use Karana Mudra to release it.

You can do this mudra in a few different ways, But I recommend bringing the tip of your thumb to the front of your middle and ring fingers, and lengthening your index and pinky fingers up.

Image from MindBodyGreen.

4. Anahata Mudra. 

Open your heart chakra, Anahata chakra, with Anahata mudra. This is one of my favorite mudras to help unconditional love flow through you.

Fold your index finger, associated with the element of air, into your palm. Stretch out your middle, index, and ring fingers. Fold your thumb over the top of your index finger, right between your first and second knuckles.

If you only choose one mudra on this list, choose this one.


Image from Dribbble.

5. Padma or Lotus Mudra. Imagine a beautiful lotus flower blossoming open. This mudra reminds you that all of that wonderful opening energy is within you. Not only is it heart-opening, it also activates your crown chakra, your connection to the Universe.

Start by bringing your palms to heart center. Then, keeping your thumbs and pinky fingers touching, start to blossom your hands open. Your index, middle, and ring fingers all reach out to the sky.

Which of these is your favorite mudra and why? Comment below and share!